WirePOLITICS: Minor-party candidates join presidential, local races

Tom Waringthe Wire

A number of minor-party candidates beat last week’s filing deadline to run in the general election.

Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump will be joined on the presidential ballot by the Green Party’s Jill Stein, the Constitution Party’s Darrell Castle and Libertarian Gary Johnson.

In the U.S. Senate race, Republican Sen. Pat Toomey and Democratic challenger Katie McGinty will be joined by Libertarian Edward T. Clifford III.

Democrat Kathleen Kane is on trial on charges of perjury and obstructing administration of law, and is not seeking a second term as attorney general. The candidates are Democrat Josh Shapiro, Republican John Rafferty and Libertarian N.A. Poe.

In the race for auditor general, the candidates will be Democratic incumbent Eugene DePasquale, Republican John Brown, the Green Party’s John J. Sweeney and Libertarian Roy A. Minet.

The state treasurer seat is open, as Democrat Rob McCord resigned and pleaded to charges he attempted to shake down state contractors for campaign donations in the 2014 primary for governor. He awaits sentencing. The candidates to replace him are Democrat Joe Torsella, Republican Otto Voit, Libertarian James Babb and the Green Party’s Kristin Combs.

2 thoughts on “WirePOLITICS: Minor-party candidates join presidential, local races

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s