Bucks students among regional student athletes awarded for sportsmanship

Twenty-one student-athletes were honored earlier this month with the Aria 3B Orthopaedic Institute High School Sportsmanship Award.

The teenagers were honored for their efforts in promoting sportsmanship in their given sports.

Photo courtesy of Robert Neroni

The award recipients joined parents, principals, coaches and athletic directors at a breakfast ceremony held at the Sheraton Bucks County Hotel in Langhorne.

The students were presented plaques, and will also be given $1,000 scholarships sponsored by the Aria Health Foundation, to be used toward the college of their choice. Marshall Harris, of Comcast SportsNet, spoke about how sportsmanship has helped shape his career, as well as how he has seen these characteristics shape professional athletes’ careers while reporting.

High school principals and athletic directors in Lower Bucks County, Northeast Philadelphia, Center City and South Jersey made the nominations of high school seniors.

Physicians at Aria 3B Orthopaedic Institute identified these 21 students as award winners:

  • Ani Javardian, Villa Joseph Marie (basketball)
  • Denise Sacco, Morrisville (basketball and softball)
  • George Alston, William Tennent (basketball and track)
  • Jarrett Patman, Conwell-Egan (baseball, basketball and football)
  • Katelyn Santana, Bristol (field hockey, basketball and softball)
  • Nicole Cripps, Archbishop Wood (volleyball)
  • Olivia Sargent, Pennsbury (cross country and track and field)
  • Patrick Donahue, Holy Ghost Prep (cross country, indoor track and track and field)
  • Taylor Lanzillo, Haddon Township (football and lacrosse)
  • Alison Wilson, St. Hubert (basketball, field hockey and lacrosse)
  • Brandon Teel, New Foundations Charter (basketball)
  • Jeff Days, Philadelphia Academy Charter School (basketball)
  • Kayla Winter, Archbishop Ryan (volleyball)
  • Lucy Smith, Northeast (soccer)
  • Miranda Ruk, Arts Academy at Benjamin Rush (basketball and softball)
  • Taylor Champ, MaST Community Charter School (basketball and soccer)
  • William McCarthy, Father Judge (soccer)
  • Jacob Small, Franklin Towne Charter (cross country and track and field)
  • E’drise Hightower, Tacony Academy Charter (basketball)
  • Janmarilyn Ramirez-Matos, Jules E. Mastbaum Vocational Technical School (volleyball)
  • Arnold Gonzalez, Community Academy of Philadelphia (basketball, baseball and soccer).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s